Ipsy Glam Bag September 2013

Getting that hot pink package in the mail is always a great way to end the day! I couldn’t wait to tear open this bag and see what I got this month! I am a subscription box addict and usually do  a steady rotation of PopSugar, Ipsy, Julep, Birchbox, Glossy, and various other ones here and there when there is a good special edition.

What I like about Ipsy is getting all the little makeup bags. When I first signed up I thought this was going to be annoying but although I don’t totally love the pattern on this one, it will get put to use in some way!

Image

Ipsy Glam Bag September 2013

Here are all the contents that came in the bag…now to break them down:

Image

Image

Starlooks Kohl Eye Pencil in Obsidian $12

Although I have plenty of black eyeliners from hauls ad subscription services, I do always find a good use for them and they get pretty good rotation. Plus, I love everything that I’ve gotten from Starlooks. It also goes on real creamy and opaque (see below). I like this because I hate redrawing on my eyeliner when the pencils don’t go on thick enough the first time.

Image

NYX Eyeshadow in Lanikai $4.50

NYX cosmetics are great products for a great price. Even though they aren’t new products for me to try out I am always more than happy to get something from them!

Image

Swatches for the eyeliner and eyeshadow. Gorgeous blue that is perfect for fall!
Image

Elizabeth Mott It’s So Big Mascara Travel Size approx. $8

Now, I will use this because between traveling and changing handbags, I always find a place for travel size mascaras. But let me say, I am a pretty die hard, tried and true, unwavering devotee to only a few mascara brands when it comes to actually buying them. So this will get use, but I hate to say, even if I like it, I probably won’t love it and become a customer. I could eat my words but it’s hard to beat the Nordstrom buy 2 get 1 free mascara events where I can get Diorshow, YSL, and Chanel in any possible color. I also religiously wear They’re Real by Benefit Cosmetics too.

Image

skyn ICELAND Hydro Cool Firming Eye Gels– 2 pairs- $7.50

Uh, these look amazing! I can’t wait to try them… as a matter of fact, I will try a pair out tonight after this post! A girl can always put to use cooling eye gels!

Image

This  sample card was included for the Michelle Phan Life Palette. Does anyone ever use these samples? I’ve never received one like this before with actual colors, only creams and stuff. I will give it a try because I hate wasting stuff but I can’t say I love the way it’s looking right now..

Image

Cailyn Tinted Lip Balm in Big Apple $19

Now, I LOVE the Cailyn eyeliner pot. I love that the product comes with a nice brush included in the lid for application in both of these products. Now, like the blogs name, I love lipstick….especially anything red! It works well with my skin color and it truly is a great way to amp up any outfit. So seeing that this was a “tinted lip balm” I was wondering if it was going to be anything like the Benetint balm but its much richer in color and goes on like a cream lip color (see below) so I am excited to try this out and see how it wears over time.

Here is what it looks like against my olive skin:

IMG_0607

Total bag value: $51

Some people got butter LONDON colors it looks like according to the email that Ipsy sent out which I would always love but it wouldn’t be a new product for me to try so I can’t be too sad since it would defeat the purpose of getting these bags if I did get it. Overall, I am always happy with Ipsy. I couldn’t recommend another beauty bag more than Ipsy actually. If you aren’t subscribed but are interested, subscribe here!

Leave a Reply

